Stage Four

March 24, 2016 § Leave a comment

Another hot flash. It’s almost 3:30 in the morning. My helper gave me a marijuana infused chocolate truffle. I don’t do pot much. She convinced me to try it, said it would help me with my body aches. I forgot the chocolate has enough caffeine in it to keep me awake. So, here I am, at 3:30 in the morning. Wide-awake, and reaching for the bottle of ibuprofen. My ex called me today. You know this kind of ex: The first one. The one you fell madly in love with. The one you thought you would spend the rest of your life with. The one where you still look down on your arm at the cigarette burn and think of her. The one where you wished the neighbors would call the cops. She remembered that I once remarked that I was afraid she would die, and nobody would call to tell me. They pulled a gallon out of her lungs yesterday, it’s stage four.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stage Four at pugetsoundgypsy.

meta

